Favorite apps

IMG_2405

I just recently got approval to use an iPad as a tool for distraction and education with my patients. I am so grateful to finally be able to use this amazing tool! Here are some of my favorite apps that I’ve been using:

Medi toons is my go-to app when doing appy teachings for older kids and parents. it’s a free app that shows videos about different (mostly gastro) conditions.

FullSizeRender

This app was recently reviewed by one of my favorite child life bloggers, child life mommy. It’s a [free] app that helps teach little ones to control their frustration by remembering to breathe, think, and then do!
FullSizeRender-3

Wellapets is an awesome [free] app about asthma! This interactive game does a great job of promoting asthma education in a fun way.

FullSizeRender-2

This is my go to app for MRI & CT scan teachings. Just last week I had a 9yo patient that was going to have an MRI. He’d had them before but was always been sedated for them. I showed him what the MRI machine sounded like with this app & thanks to that, he said he didn’t need any medicine to do his MRI this time. Thanks, Simply Sayin’!

FullSizeRender-4

Disney Junior Appisodes is a forever favorite. This app features familiar beloved characters in an interactive & colorful display. This is ideal for lengthy procedures & really engages children in the appisode.

FullSizeRender-5

Caillou’s check up app has been a very popular pick on my iPad. So popular I decided to splurge a bit ($4.99) and unlock all of the “levels” (you get the first level for free). With this app you’re able to help Caillou with his doctor’s office check up: taking his temperature, height, weight, etc.

FullSizeRender-6

I downloaded this app just as a filler to have more choices for my toddler population and for some reason it’s also been a very popular choice amongst my patients. It’s a simple free little app in which you’re given tasks to complete such as  puzzles, picking the largest fish, picking the smallest fish, etc. while calming, ocean-themed music plays in the background. I’m very impressed with this app and it’s popularity!

FullSizeRender-7

And finally, Skylanders Lost Islands. This free app is VERY popular with wide age range of my male patients. It’s great for the younger ones because it plays a 4-5minute video upon starting which is very dramatic and engaging. For my older boys, it’s a fun and interactive game with familiar characters.

4 responses to “Favorite apps”

  1. I love the Simply Sayin one. I recently downloaded it. Can’t wait till I get to use it:) Where do we go to download the meditoons one? I looked at the google play store and I am not able to locate it.

    1. I found meditoons in the apple App Store.

  2. David Nesbitt Avatar
    David Nesbitt

    That’s so cool how Simply Sayin’ helped you prep your patient for his MRI so that he didn’t need sedation… that’s huge!

    1. Absolutely! I love the simply sayin’ app!

Leave a comment